Call for Papers of the „Journal of Higher Education Research“

Special issue „Rethinking and Innovating Higher Education Governance“


The thematic issue on “Higher Education Governance in transition” focuses on the relationship between societal development dynamics on the one hand and the reforms and shifts in higher education governance on the other. Analyses of causes, characteristics and effects of changes in higher education governance from different disciplines are welcome – with regard to different performance areas (research, teaching, transfer, etc.), different groups of actors (higher education policy, university management, scientific communities, funding institutions, etc.), levels (from local conditions in higher education institutions to international networks) and different governance mechanisms (hierarchy, competition, communities, networks, etc.). 
 

The main topics of the issue are:

Higher education and society

  • Embeddedness of higher education in society: What structural and operational responses do higher education institutions give to urgent and multiplying societal demands for effective problem-solving (“grand challenges”)? How do universities react to science-critical discourses in the public media? What role does the increasing internationalisation of scientific cooperation, labour markets or educational standards play?
  • Crisis as an opportunity?! Which pandemic-induced shifts to digital formats in teaching, administration, and academic self-governance will remain, and how will they develop? Which characteristics will make universities attractive for students, professors, teaching officials and scientists?
  • Higher education governance after New Public Management?! To what extent has New Public Management passed its zenith? If there is an emerging new governance regime: which value orientations, actor constellations, and governance mechanisms characterise it?
  • “Clash of institutional logics”: How do universities and social actors deal with increasing tensions between the logic of science and the logic of formal (e.g. labour law) or informal (work-life balance) social norms and expectations? 

Governance in universities and science

  • Governance structures in scientific organisations: Which forms of leadership and management facilitate the quantity and quality of research and teaching output?
  • How do different forms of organizing leadership and management impact the increasing (?) quantity and quality of output in research and teaching?
  • The “cooperative turn” in research: Which consequences have the omnipresent trend towards cooperation for the organization, funding and management of research projects in the higher education system?
  • Limits to the competition: How can higher education institutions oppose dysfunctional forms of competition in higher education and science?
  • Governance of good and liberal scientific practice: How can higher education institutions safeguard the functional conditions of science against system-internal misconduct and external pressures in the future?

Various types of manuscripts of different orientation and length in German or English are welcome: Research articles (quantitative or qualitative studies), research notes as well as practical insights. Details on formats can be found in the “Guidelines for Authors” section (https://www.bzh.bayern.de/en/guidelines-for-authors). 

If you are interested, please first submit an abstract (max. 600 words) by 25 July 2021, including a note on your intended article format. All submissions will be evaluated by the editors with regard to their suitability for the planned thematic issue. The authors will receive a corresponding message by at the beginning of August 2021.

The Deadline for submission of complete manuscripts is 31 December 2021. The two-stage review process will be carried out from January 2022. Receipt of the final manuscripts is scheduled for 1 July 2022 at the latest. Publication of the articles will take place at the beginning of September 2022 in issue 3/2022 of the “Journal of Higher Education Research”. 

The publishers welcome different types of manuscripts, such as articles providing an overview of a particular topic (systematic reviews), research articles, research notes, and insights into the practice (cp. www.bzh.bayern.de, see “Guidelines for authors”). They have to be written in British English.

Call for Papers special issue "Rethinking and Innovating Higher Education Governance"


Deadlines

Submission of abstracts: July 25, 2021
Submission of manuscripts: 31 December 2021
Submission of revised manuscripts: July 1st, 2022
Please send your submissions to: Beitraege (at) ihf.bayern.de

Submission language: German or English 
If you have any queries, please contact the editors: Beitraege (at) ihf.bayern.de

Call for Papers der „Beiträge zur Hochschulforschung“

Themenheft „Hochschulgovernance im Umbruch: Herausforderungen und Handlungsbedarfe für die Zukunft“ 


Das Themenheft „Hochschulgovernance im Umbruch: Herausforderungen und Handlungsbedarfe für die Zukunft“ stellt das Verhältnis zwischen gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungsdynamiken einerseits und den Reformen und Umbrüchen der Hochschulgovernance andererseits in den Mittelpunkt. Erwünscht sind Analysen von Ursachen, Ausprägungen und Effekten von Veränderungen der Hochschulgovernance, die aus der Perspektive verschiedener Disziplinen sowie mit Blick auf unterschiedliche Leistungsbereiche (Forschung, Lehre, Transfer etc.), verschiedene Gruppen von Akteurinnen und Akteuren (Hochschulpolitik, Hochschulmanagement, wissenschaftliche Communities, Förderinstitutionen etc.), in einander geschachtelte Ebenen (von lokalen Bedingungen in Hochschulen bis zu internationalen Netzwerken) und verschiedene Governance-Mechanismen (Hierarchie, Wettbewerb, Gemeinschaften, Netzwerke etc.) erfolgen können. 
 

Themenschwerpunkte des Hefts

Hochschulsystem und Gesellschaft

  • Gesellschaftliche Einbettung: Welche strukturellen und operativen Antworten geben Hochschulen auf die an sie verstärkt herangetragenen, drängenden gesellschaftlichen Leistungs- und Problemlösungserwartungen („grand challenges“)? Wie reagieren sie auf wissenschaftskritische Diskurse in der medialen Öffentlichkeit? Welche Rolle spielt die zunehmende Internationalisierung von wissenschaftlichen Kooperationsbeziehungen, Arbeitsmärkten oder Bildungsstandards?
  • Krise als Chance?! In welcher Weise hat die Covid-19-Pandemie die Governance von Forschung und Lehre beeinflusst? Welche pandemiebedingten Umstellungen auf digitale Prozesse in Lehre, Administration und Selbstverwaltung werden bleiben, wie werden sie sich weiter entwickeln? 
  • Hochschulgovernance nach dem New Public Management?! In welchem Maße hat das New Public Management seinen Zenit überschritten? Welche Wertorientierungen, Akteurskonstellationen und Governance-Mechanismen kennzeichnen gegebenenfalls das sich herausbildende neue Governance-Regime?
  • „Clash of institutional logics“: Wie gehen Hochschulen und gesellschaftliche Akteurinnen und Akteure künftig mit zunehmenden Spannungen zwischen der Logik der Wissenschaft und der Logik formaler (z. B. Arbeitsrecht) oder informaler (Work-Life-Balance) gesellschaftlicher Normen und Erwartungen um? 

Governance in Hochschulen und Wissenschaft:

  • Führungsstrukturen in wissenschaftlichen Organisationen: Welchen Beitrag leisten verschiedene Formen der Organisation von Führung und Management heute und künftig im Hinblick auf den quantitativen und qualitativen Output in Forschung und Lehre?
  • Der „cooperative turn“ in der Forschung: Welche Anforderungen ergeben sich aus dem allgegenwärtigen Trend zur Intensivierung von Kooperation für die Organisation, Finanzierung und Steuerung von Forschungsprojekten im Hochschulsystem?
  • Grenzen des Wettbewerbs: Was können Hochschulen gegen dysfunktionale Formen von Wettbewerb im Hochschul- und im Wissenschaftssystem tun? 
  • Governance von guter und freiheitlicher wissenschaftlicher Praxis: Wie sollten und wie können Hochschulen künftig die Funktionsbedingungen der Wissenschaft gegen systeminternes Fehlverhalten und gegen äußere Einschränkungen sichern? Welche Strukturen und Maßnahmen müssen dafür verändert werden – und in welcher Weise?

Verschiedene Arten von Manuskripten unterschiedlicher Ausrichtung und Länge in deutscher oder englischer Sprache sind willkommen: Forschungsartikel (quantitative oder qualitative Studien), Research Notes sowie Einblicke in die Praxis. Einzelheiten zu den Formaten finden Sie in den Hinweisen für Autorinnen und Autoren

Bei Interesse bitten wir zunächst um die Einreichung eines Abstracts (max. 600 Wörter) bis zum 25. Juli 2021. Bitte geben Sie dabei auch das von Ihnen vorgesehene Artikelformat an. Alle Themenvorschläge werden von den Herausgeberinnen und Herausgebern hinsichtlich ihrer Eignung für das geplante Themenheft bewertet. Die Autorinnen und Autoren erhalten Anfang August 2021 eine entsprechende Nachricht. 

Frist für die Einreichung der vollständigen Manuskripte ist der 31. Dezember 2021. Das zweistufige Review-Verfahren beginnt im Januar 2022. Der Eingang der finalen Manuskripte ist spätestens für den 1. Juli 2022 vorgesehen. Die Veröffentlichung der Beiträge erfolgt dann Anfang September 2022 in der Ausgabe 3/2022 der „Beiträge zur Hochschulforschung".

Call for Papers zum Thema „Hochschulgovernance im Umbruch: Herausforderungen und Handlungsbedarfe für die Zukunft“


Termine

Einreichung der Abstracts: bis 25. Juli 2021 
Einreichung der Manuskripte: bis 31. Dezember 2021 
Einreichung der finalen Manuskripte: bis 01. Juli 2022
E-Mail: Beitraege@ihf.bayern.de 

Einreichungssprache: deutsch oder englisch 
Bei Rückfragen wenden Sie sich bitte an das Herausgeberteam: Beitraege (at) ihf.bayern.de